#THEPOOLREADS

This week we're reading...

#THEPOOLREADS

This week we're reading...

A quirky novel about a Turkish-American student at Harvard in the mid 90s, a lovely, sad and smart read for fans of Dept of Speculation and Alice Oswald's dazzling pub-companion, Falling Awake

Added on

Posted

A quirky novel about a Turkish-American student at Harvard in the mid 90s, a lovely, sad and smart read for fans of Dept of Speculation and Alice Oswald's dazzling pub-companion, Falling Awake

Posted

  • Frankie Graddon is reading… Dead Babies and Seaside Towns by Alice Jolly

    After giving birth to her stillborn daughter Laura, Alice tells her heartbreaking story of the struggles she's had with conceiving, IVF, adoption and surrogacy. It's painful but also funny, hopeful and ultimately joyful. A really honest account of womanhood and motherhood.
    ​​• BUY Dead Babies and Seaside Towns on Amazon or pop into your local bookshop.

  • Zoe Beaty is reading… Falling Awake by Alice Oswald

    I took this collection as my sole companion to the pub, on a wintry Saturday evening. Turns out, it made for dazzling company. Falling Awake is a dreamlike ode to the majesty of nature – the cyclical way it revolves, the small miracles that occur every day and the pure inevitability of it all. The crescendo of the piece comes in the second half – a dramatic monologue titled “Tithonus: 46 Minutes in the Life of the Dawn” (Tithonus was one of the lovers of Eos, the goddess of dawn). It’s presented mostly to the right of a line drawn into the centre of each page, acting as a sort of timeline or vertical horizon, before, precisely 46 minutes later, the final words slowly fade from black to grey, and almost fall right off the page. And then, presumably, the endless cycle begins again.
    ​​• BUY Falling Awake on Amazon or pop into your local bookshop.

  • Lily Peschardt is reading…

    The Idiot by Elif Batuman 
    This is a really quirky novel about a Turkish-American student at Harvard in the mid 90s. The novel is full of small tangents – but somehow, instead of making the book harder to read, because the tangents are so vivid and emotionally poignant, they make the story more accessible. The Idiot is a coming of age novel about how it feels to grow up in a world that never ceases to shock and delight.​
    • BUY The Idiot on Amazon or pop into your local bookshop.

  • Anna James is reading… What We Lose by Zinzi Clemmons

    I've been desperately trying to mop up all the 2017 releases I've missed and I am so glad I found time for this gem. A haunting lyrical exploration of grief and personhood, it follows Thandi, a young South African woman living in America and struggling to fit into any part of her identity fully as she deals with the terminal illness of her mother. Taking in class, race and gender, it's told in short vignettes mixed in with article extracts, graphs and other ephemera. A lovely, sad and smart read for fans of Dept of Speculation
    ​​• BUY What We Lose on Amazon or pop into your local bookshop.

  • Viv Groskop is rereading… The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton

    I'm rereading this so that I can cast the beadiest eye possible over the TV adaptation that is about to come out. I feel like I missed something the first time I read it. A newlywed trapped in a dismal marriage in a poorly-lit mansion with only a doll's house for company... And someone keeps meddling with the doll's house as if they're trying to tell her something. I take great satisfaction in comparing TV and book versions like some weird misanthropic pedant so this is my Christmas gift to myself.
    ​​• BUY The Miniaturist on Amazon or pop into your local bookshop.

Tagged in:
Books
this week we're reading

Tap below to add
the-pool.com to your homescreen

Close